Remembering Jessa

JESSICA PHAN DAWDY

December 15, 1991-July 30, 2009

 

The Persian poet Kahlil Gibran has written:

          “When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight.”

          Remembering Jessica with delight is what I hope for today.

We celebrated my husband’s birthday on our first meeting more than seven years ago. She was shy, quiet, just a little intimidated.  As Greek music played and the dancers twirled, she gave it up and went to sleep, resting her head on Kim’s lap. From then on, she became an important part of our lives…our oldest grandchild.

At Christmas and her birthday, my challenge was to find Chinese or Vietnamese treasures to delight her, while she loved to choose just the right gifts for others.

Sometimes Jessa delighted in outraging her adults…in music, in dress, in argument and hassle. Other times, a giggle, a laugh, a joke I didn’t get reminded me of her zany self.

She loved to multi-task:  baking, eating, watching TV and texting away at the same time. Jessa would sigh dramatically and fix it when I couldn’t figure out simple cell-phone maneuvers.

I wanted much for her in life: to eat her vegetables(she’s arguing with Granddad  Jim about that one;) to be a strong person, a good friend, a better student and to belch quietly; I wanted her to be surrounded with the love she gave others…and  continues to give us in memory, in our hearts.

4 Comments

Filed under Family

4 responses to “Remembering Jessa

  1. Marlene

    This is really lovely, Arletta. Thank you so much for writing this. Chills as I type and not just from this cold morning. From your honest and genuine writing and your ability to share so wonderfully.

  2. Arletta Dawdy

    Dear Marlene,
    Your words are valued by me and I thank you for them. Losing a youngster is just not what we are ready for or think to expect. She was a special part of our family, unique and beautiful, too.

  3. Beautiful. Brought tears. Having grandchildren of my own, I can feel some of what you feel. Kahlil Gibran’s words of love: When love beckons to you, follow him, though his ways are hard and steep. and when his wings enfold you yield to him, though the sword hidden among his pinions may wound you. We never know, do we, when our loved on will leave us? I don’t think, though, that they are very far a way. You might be interested in a blog I wrote after my brother, Danny, died. Just go to my website, then the blog page, and scroll down to the picture of Danny and his wife, check the date (for I can’t remember now) and go to the archives at the top of the page and click on the date.

Leave a Reply

